Tuesday, July 05, 2011

[PDI] FW: Movement to Abolish Corporate Personhood Gaining Traction


-----Original Message-----
From: Move to Amend <info@MovetoAmend.org>
Sent: July 05, 2011 2:08 PM
To: Daniel Stafford <aquarianm@gmail.com>
Subject: Movement to Abolish Corporate Personhood Gaining Traction

Dear friends,
We hope you had a great independence day!
➤ EXCITING NEWS: On Friday we had an article published on Common Dreams, titled "Movement to Abolish Corporate Personhood Gaining Traction." Our piece quickly climbed to the "most popular" article on the site, and it remains there as of today!

As a result traffic to our web site over the weekend was a bit overwhelming, and we apologize for the slow speed caused by so many viewers. But the good news is that we gained 5,000+ new signatures for our petition (welcome new folks!) as the article was shared and re-posted widely across the internet and the blogosphere.
Please help us keep the momentum by sharing the article with your friends and allies, and posting it to your Facebook, Twitter and blogs.

➤ Thanks to everyone who participated in educational events over the weekend to help our communities "Declare Our Independence from Corporate Rule."  

 Check out this video from our friends at Democracy Unlimited (Humboldt Move to Amend)!
Their "Story of Corporate Personhood" skit was performed at a street festival in Arcata, CA yesterday. We've added a page on our website where you can download the script and instructions to perform this fun skit in your community too.
And don't forget to send us pictures and video from your actions and events yesterday!

➤ Remember that TODAY - Tuesday, July 5th at 4pm Pacific / 5pm Mountain / 6pm Central / 7pm Eastern is our monthly Take Action Webinar!
This month we're covering Nuts and Bolts Organizing Tips for an Effective Move to Amend Group. Click here to register.

We continue to gain momentum with each passing day - thanks for your support and participation!
Yours for democracy,
Ben Manski, Bruce Dixon, David Cobb, George Friday, Kaitlin Sopoci-Belknap, Laura Bonham, Matt Nelson & Nancy Price
Move to Amend Executive Committee

PS - If you support Move to Amend, please get involved! Join or start an Affiliate Group in your hometown or make a donation today!

Move to Amend
P.O. Box 260217
Madison, WI 53726-0217
United States
End Corporate Rule. Legalize Democracy. Move to Amend.
We're on Facebook & Twitter!
To ensure that you continue receiving our emails, please add us to your
address book or safe list.
Click here to be taken off our list.
Got this as a forward? Sign up to receive our future emails.
PDI mailing list

This message was sent to aquarianm.pd-il@blogger.com.
To unsubscribe, visit the URL above, or email webmaster@illinoisprogressives.org for assistance.

No comments: